At Your Service


Retired Women Teachers' Association

Our chapter membership is open to all retired women teachers in Manitoba. Please contact Pat Opalko ( or Cecile Alarie-Skene ( for a membership form or DOWNLOAD HERE

Chapter President: Pat Opalko

Brenden Roth
Tessa Dalton
Natalee Dawson
Micah Park
Irvin Shepard
Amiya Shea
Skylar Pena
Hudson Kent
Andres Odom
Riley Ortega
Gideon Vincent
Saige Lester
Karla Hood
Clara Shea
Tate Escobar
Ivan Conrad
Camden Everett
Paxton Velazquez
Shawn Winters
Jaylen Rubio

Dear Members,

We will meet for lunch on Thursday, April 21, 2022, at the Masonic Centre, with a few changes in seating capacity.


March 27, 2020

Respectfully submitted: Pat Opalko, President,

2019-2020 is our sixty-eighth year as the Retired Women Teachers’ Association (RWTA). Our membership presently is 268 members with 17 of those members being Life Members who are aged 90 years or over. Membership has increased and we hope that it will continue.

During the year the RWTA executive met five times to plan four luncheons with activities and entertainment.

The September luncheon was highlighted by our annual Fashion Show by Northern Reflections. The models for this fun event were volunteers from our very own RWTA membership. Northern Reflections kindly distributed coupons that day and many of our members were seen at St. Vital Mall shopping at Northern Reflections that afternoon!

At our Christmas luncheon we were entertained by “True Harmony”, an all-female a cappella group based in Winnipeg, who regaled us with Christmas music. We were delighted by the traditional served Christmas dinner of turkey and all the trimmings, prepared by the caterer at the Masonic Centre. Mrs. Claus, our wonderful member, Emily Williamson, rewarded everyone with a special Christmas gift, a tiny orange, on her annual visit.

For February’s luncheon we were entertained by RWTA member and author, Oriole Veldhuis. Dressed as a pioneer woman, Oriole shared her great grandmother’s family history from her book titled “For Elise-Unveiling the Forgotten Woman on the Criddle Homestead”. Oriole gave a fascinating talk and members had the opportunity to purchase her book. In honour of Festival du Voyageur, members enjoyed bison tourtiere with caribou gravy for lunch presented by Wow Catering.

Our April 2020 get together with members was to be our AGM with a luncheon to celebrate Manitoba’s 150th but that has now been postponed to September’s luncheon due to COVID-19. The entertainment planned for this April’s luncheon will be postponed to the April 2021 luncheon when we’ll celebrate the beginning of RWTA’s 70th year.  It promises to be a lot of fun!

We continue to hold our luncheons at the Masonic Centre at Corydon and Osborne where our delicious and varied meals are prepared by WOW Catering. Guests are always welcome.

Donations of toiletries for women’s shelters, used eye-glasses for the Eye Bank and reusable bags for Winnipeg Harvest continue to be collected at each luncheon. This February members were very generous with donations of over 200 pairs of socks for the needy. Also, donations to our Angel Baskets at our December luncheons continue to allow us to recognize our shut in members with small gifts at Christmas and Easter and cards on other occasions.

All retired and newly retired women teachers are welcome to join RWTA in 2020-2021. The annual membership fee is $8 and our luncheons, with entertainment, are $20 for members and $25 for non-members.

As RWTA president I wish to thank our RWTA executive and members for their support and help.

On behalf of the RWTA Executive and members we thank RTAM for its support and dedication. We would love to have more retired women teachers join us to keep our membership numbers increasing.


Pat Opalko,

RWTA president 2019-2020

Pat Opalko


Cecile Alarie-Skene

Past President



Phyllis Arnold-Luedtke


Cécile Alarie-Skene

Membership Convener

Pat Opalko

Recording Secretary

Ethel Mair

Corresponding Secretary

Brenda Zebrynski

Club Notices

Lynda Tunny

Luncheon Coordinator

Louise Burton

Arlene Billeck

Laurel McFarlane

Social Committee Chair

Social Committee

Social Committee

Birdielyn Gray

Barbara Haddow



Peggy Prendergast

RTAM  / Pensions

Emily Williamson

Lenore Butler

Visiting Committee

Visiting Committee

Helen Norrie


Jacquie Field


Charlotte Stech


This user has no articles.