Search our Site

The mandate of the Political Advocacy (PA) Committee as stated in the Policy Handbook is as follows:

  1. Develop and recommend actions to accomplish goals and objectives established by the Board.
  2. Monitor political issues and advise the President and/or the Board on emerging issues relevant to RTAM.
  3. Plan and organize political advocacy, if so directed by the Board.


Committee Chair & Member/s


John Sushelnitsky
Portage la Prairie
  • Guy Hansen
  • Vicki Hooke
  • JoAnne Hoyak
  • Julian Hoyak
  • Dennis Kozak
November 2021 Highlights

The committee met twice in September to deal with the leadership selection of the Progressive Conservative Party at the end of October. At the first meeting held September 14th we drew up five questions for the candidates that reflected the concerns of RTAM, our short and long term goals. This work was presented to the Executive and then to the Board. Their comments were incorporated into a final document at the second meeting on September 28th. Registered letters requesting a meeting were sent to both candidates in early October. Recommendations were made by PA Committee as to who should speak to the candidates if a meeting were agreed to. If there were no meeting, then the five questions would be presented to all candidates prior to a provincial election.

On Nov. 3, 2021, the PA Committee reported that there had been no response to the request for a meeting with either leadership candidate for the PC Party. A further request will be made once she is known. The list of five “Asks” will be put into KIT for the information of our membership as to RTAM’s current priorities and actions. The other Parties will be contacted once a meeting with the government has taken place. Some of these documented Requests for Action (Asks) go back to 2011.

Committee Report to the 2020 RTAM AGM

RTAM – Political Advocacy 2019-20

The Year in review

Members of the PA Committee for 2019-20 were Linda Blair (Winnipeg), Ralph Cibula (Gladstone), Guy Hansen (Winnipeg), JoAnne & Julian Hoyak (MacGregor), Ken Malcolm (Dauphin) and John Sushelnitsky (Portage la Prairie). John chaired the Committee.

At the Committee’s first meeting on June 13, 2019 there were 15 items on the agenda for the year’s work:

  1. Provincial and federal elections
  2. ACER-CART articles
  3. Meet and Greet 2020
  4. Economic Disparities globally and nationally
  5. Gender inequality in pay and promotion
  6. K-12 Education Review
  7. Manitoba Seniors Coalition 
  8. Canadian Coalition for Retirement Security
  9. Indigenous Bursary 2020
  10. Nigaan Sinclair’s views on indigenous progress
  11. John Wiens’ views on the Education Review
  12. Government and Opposition press releases
  13. School division amalgamation
  14. October 1st- the United Nations Day of the Older Person
  15. Observance of the November 11thRemembrance Day

The Committee split up the research work for these topics and reported back to the whole Committee and to the Board, offering action motions when appropriate. The Covid-19 virus forced the postponement of the Meet and Greet with the Members of the Legislature. On the plus side, the Committee had very meaningful meetings with Professor and journalist Nigaan Sinclair and Dr. John r. Wiens. The meetings were reported in KIT.

Respectfully submitted by

John Sushelnitsky

Committee Chair