Report to the 2019 AGM 

Respectfully submitted by Alison Logan, Chair (Winnipeg)

Members: Raymond Bisson (Winnipeg), Bill Cann (Winnipeg), JoAnne Hoyak (MacGregor), Julian Hoyak (MacGregor), Rudy Peters (Winnipeg)

Six committee meetings were held during the 2018 - 2019 year.

Issues on the pension agenda included:

  1. Continued vigilance and opposition to the Federal government’s Bill C-27 which may set precedence and impact existing pensions and the defined benefit security they offer now.
  2. Monitoring the status of the joint agreement with MTS and accepted by the TRAF Board as to the dispersal of the restricted surplus. The dispersal has been in place since July 1, 2018 and will continue over 5 years.
  3. As of July 1, 2019 COLA will be 1.23%
  4. Appointment of an RTAM member to the TRAF Board. The protocol for the selection process has been reviewed and revised by the committee.
  5. Continued communication with ACER-CART, and in particular supporting their petition opposing Bill C-27.

Continuation of the tradition of meeting with our provincial representatives.  Our meeting with the Honourable Kelvin Goertzen, Minister of Education and Training included a discussion addressing an RTAM representative being named to the TRAF Board, the government’s unfunded liability to the teacher’s pension plan and RTAM’s opposition to Bill C-27.



Retirement is a time of transitions. Throughout your career you belonged to the Manitoba Teachers’ Society (MTS), but upon retirement you are no longer a member. The Retired Teachers’ Association of Manitoba (RTAM) exists to serve retired teachers. We invite you to join the growing number of RTAM members and enjoy the benefits of belonging.

S5 Box



You need to enable user registration from User Manager/Options in the backend of Joomla before this module will activate.